Get to know the North End’s representatives | In Our Opinion

The North End, without a representative in the U.S. House of Representatives for much of 2012 and represented for a month-and-a-half by Rep. Suzan DelBene in the old 1st District, is now represented full-time by Derek Kilmer, the former state senator from Gig Harbor.

Kilmer is off to a good start as our new representative in Congress (we’re in the 6th District now thanks to reapportionment, in case you missed it).

Kilmer, who took office Jan. 3, was named to the House Armed Services Committee, and the House Science, Space and Technology Committee. Both committees are important to Kitsap County and the 6th District.

He’s spending a month in the district, meeting and listening to constituents. On Jan. 17, he hosted an open house at his Bremerton district office. The next day, he spoke at a meeting of the Poulsbo-North Kitsap Rotary Club.

Kilmer (http://kilmer.house.gov) works for you. Get to know him. His district office is in the Norm Dicks Government Center, 345 6th St., Suite 500, Bremerton, WA 98337. The phone number is (360) 373-9725. You can follow his legislation and votes on http://thomas.loc.gov.

Kilmer’s district office deals primarily with casework and community outreach. District residents who have comments, questions or need assistance with a federal department or agency can contact the district office.

Members of Congress are paid $174,000 a year.

Keep in touch with our state legislators too.

Rep. Sherry Appleton is vice chairwoman of the  Community Development, Housing & Tribal Affairs Committee, and a member of the Capital Budget and Public Safety committees. You can contact her at LEG 132, P.O. Box 40600, Olympia, WA 98504-0600. (360) 786-7934, (800) 562-6000, (800) 635-9993 (TTY), email appleton.sherry@leg.wa.gov. You can follow her legislation and votes at www.leg.wa.gov/house/representatives/Pages/appleton.aspx.

Rep. Drew Hansen is assistant majority whip, vice chairman of the Judiciary Committee, and member of the Finance and Higher Education committees. You can contact him at JLOB 369, P.O. Box 40600, Olympia, WA 98504-0600. (360) 786-7842, (800) 562-6000, (800) 635-9993 (TTY), email drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov. You can follow his legislation and votes at www.leg.wa.gov/house/representatives/Pages/hansen.aspx.

Sen. Christine Rolfes is ranking member of the Natural Resources & Parks Committee, assistant ranking member of the Early Learning & K-12 Education Committee, and a member of the Transportation Committee. She’s also a member of joint select committees on Veterans’ and Military Affairs, Education Accountability, and School Funding, and the Ecosystem Coordination Board.

You can contact her in Olympia at 230 John A. Cherberg Building, Olympia, WA 98504-0430, (360) 786-7644; and at her district office in Poulsbo City Hall, 200 NE Moe St., Poulsbo, WA 98370, (360) 598-1960. You can email her at https://dlr.leg.wa.gov/memberemail/mailform.aspx?chamber=s&district=23. You can follow her legislation and votes at www.leg.wa.gov/senate/senators/Pages/rolfes.aspx.

Legislators are paid $42,106 a year.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Sep 30
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates